Behind a Lily in the Library

lilycoverI wrote my first short story today. It was really hard. Not only because I’ve always been a long-distance writer, but because the content of the story was a little dark. I’d love if you read it and gave me feedback. Also, this post will make a lot more sense if you read it (it’s only 3,266 words according to FocusWriter) because I decided I’m going to talk about what inspired it and such.

I was thinking of House yesterday before I started. I binge-watched that show when I was sick in college. There was one episode that stood out to me. It was called “One Day, One Room.” This girl has an STD and when House tells her this, she confesses that she was raped.

I can’t even begin to explain why this one episode stood out to me (perhaps it’s because it stood out from the usual story line that the episodes generally followed), or why I was thinking of this one episode in particular, but ideas started growing in my head. I’ve always wanted to write short stories and this just kind of fit. In reality, I could have easily turned this into a novella, if not a full sized novel. If I do that, though, I’m just doing the same thing I always do. Branching out is important.

I decided to do the library because my mom was trying to convince me to get out of the house and just go somewhere. She mentioned the local library, which is what I loosely based Little Meadow Library off of. LML, however, is much bigger than our tiny little branch of our county’s public library.However, the casual feel is the same, and that’s what I love about the place. The librarians just seem to love their job. I wish I could be a librarian…

Anyway, the names were just kind of randomly chosen, as they usually are when I do names. I’m terrible at picking meaningful names. I can’t even name my Sims, I have the randomizer do it for me. I find it kind of funny, looking back, that Amanda’s last name is Krouse, which rhymes with House. Completely unintentional. Lily was just a nice name for a little girl to me. It had a sense of innocence to it.

I originally intended to end it somewhat like the episode of House, where after this ordeal, Lily and Amanda go their separate ways. But as I wrote it, that kind of ending just didn’t feel right to me. Something that deep and painful would be the basis of a true friendship between Amanda and Lily, if not some kind of familial arraignment. I decided to leave it open-ended so people could make up their own endings.

Wouldn’t it be cool if people actually used this as fodder for their own writing? I’d love to see someone write a prequel (Amanda and her librarian) or a sequel (Amanda and Lily) so I could read it. I’d love to be able to get involved with fans like that… Maybe someday when I actually have a considerable fan-base, I can make a contest or something. That’d be really cool.

Anyway, writing a short story was definitely an experience. I can see myself writing short stories like this again in the future, definitely. Being able to publish just one thing and have it be done is really gratifying. Right now, though, I need to get back to work on Europa, and I really need to get some work done on the project I eventually want to publish.

Time for more writing! Maybe I’ll take a Spyro break first…

Leave a Reply

